Free Shipping on CD-only orders over 150€ 

OVERLORD - Back Into The Dragon's Lair CD

9.99 7.99

Price in reward points: 80

In Stock
Product Code:
Reward Points:
Record Label:
Heaven And Hell

Not yet rated Write a review



In the cold Ontario winter of '83 Overlord came to be, formed by delinquent school chums, bassist Branko Zugaj and guitarist Mark Platt. After receiving their grade 12 the two would separate only to meet back up by chance in a martial arts club. There they would decide to form a band and the search for players was on. A vocalist and drummer were recruited but did not last long leaving the duo to bring in session players Dario Rubini on drums and vocalist Colin Wilkinson, who joined the band in the studio to record their 1985 four-song self-titled EP. Once the EP was released copies were madly submitted to press and labels worldwide in hopes to land a deal. Landing a deal would prove difficult for a number of reasons, but despite it all interest was gained by press and labels such as Ebony and Combat Records. Sadly nothing would materialize.

In the fall of 1988 Zugaj and Platt recruited full time vocalist Jim Feeney. The search for a permanent drummer proved more difficult, so the band had to rely on a session musician once again. With Juno award winning engineer Stu Young (famous for working with Prince) and Mike Levine of Triumph they created their most progressive EP to date. Finally in 1993, the band found their drummer in Barry White. Overlord had at long last built a permanent lineup, which proved to be their strongest lineup to date. Back to Metalworks they went, this time with famed producer John Punter (of Roxy Music) and engineer Mark Peters to record the EP ‘The Open Eye’. After a decade Branko, one of the founding members, would leave the band in '93, a month before the remaining members would call it quits.

Fast forward to 2001, when interest in the band resurfaced in a place they hadn't previously thought of tapping into. European fans were quite interested in Overlord, whose music had somehow surfaced in Europe. Fans were clamoring for the vinyl self-titled EP and paying outrageous amounts of money for a copy. This led to bootlegs, rave reviews and the development of a large cult following. A brief reunion would be inspired by the new found interest. After one more recording session the members went their separate ways putting an end to the Overlord of the past.

Overlord reissue is an ECD with archival photos, lyric sheets and more!

1. X-rated Man
2. Messiah Comes
3. Distant Orphan
4. (Prelude) Endless Sun
5. Walk Softly
6. Midnite Flight
7. Nice Life
8. The Storm
9. White Witch
10. Desert Door
11. Subterranean Spiral Dance
12. Mind Slide
13. Wings of Stone
14. White Lightning
15. Never Enough
16. Ran Away


Product Details
Band Overlord
Format CD
Year 2010
Packaging Type Jewel Case
Number of Discs 1

Reviews (0)

Write a review


Video is not avaiable yet for this product.