Check the CULT METAL CLASSICS label website for latest news

Free Shipping on NEW CD-only orders over 150€ 

RIOT - Archives Volume Four: 1988 - 1989 CD+DVD


Price in reward points: 180

In Stock
Product Code:
HRR 571 CD
Reward Points:
Record Label:
High Roller

Not yet rated Write a review



Description by HIGH ROLLER website:

High Roller Records, slipcase, restored and mastered by Patrick W. Engel at Temple of Disharmony, Bonus DVD Live in Kobe 1990, As a founding member of San Antonio Texas legends S.A. Slayer, bassist Don Van Stavern is the longest lasting member of Riot V. The first Riot album he plays on is 1989's legendary "Thundersteel" record. However, not a lot of people know that his personal connection to Mark Reale goes way back even further, to 1983's "Born In America", featuring the late great Rhett Forrester: "There's actually three songs on "Born In America" that I co-wrote but didn't get any credits for. At the time of "Born In America" I was already writing with Mark Reale. I wrote "Gunfighter", I wrote "Heavy Metal Machine" with him, and I wrote "Running From The Law". And I have demos of that. Because what we would do is, we would get the songs down and then we would demo with the guys from Texas Slayer. That later became Narita. But "Gunfighter", "Heavy Metal Machine" and "Running From The Law" were already written. That's where our relationship for writing actually started. With songs like "On Your Knees", "Runaway", "Storming The Gates Of Hell" or the striking "Killer" (with vocalist Tony Moore singing a duet with none other than the mighty Joe Lynn Turner) "Riot Archives Vol.4" contains the original demo versions of a lot of material which later ended up on "The Privilege Of Power" album (from 1990). Don Van Stavern compares the rough demo takes of the "Privilege Of Power" material (recorded in Texas) to the finished album versions (laid down in New York City): "The producers wanted to put a bunch of stars as guest musicians on the album, that was the deal, and they wanted to put horns on there. That was okay. But then they put the noise in-between each song, the little intros, and then a long intro. And then the song would finish and there would be another long intro. A lot of fans said: "We just wanna hear the music, we don't wanna hear that." That was one of the things we didn't really like about the finished version of "The Privilege Of Power". The horns were cool but we didn't like the bits and pieces in-between the actual songs."

1. On Your Knees (Rough Mix)
2. Runaway (Rough Mix)
3. Killer (Rough Mix)
4. Storming The Gates Of Hell (Rough Mix)
5. Maryanne (Rough Mix)
6. Racing With The Devil (On A Spanish Highway) (Rough Mix)
7. Smoke On The Water (Alternative Version)
8. Killer (Joe Lynn Turner Vocal Demo)
9. Dance Of Death (4 Track Demo)
10. Black Leather And Glittering Steel (4 Track Demo)
11. Runaway (4 Track Demo)
12. Smoke On The Water (4 Track Demo)
13. Maryanne (Vocal Recording Session)

1. On Your Knees
2. Metal Soldiers
3. Flight Of The Warrior
4. Tokyo Rose
5. Rock City
6. Runaway
7. Storming The Gates Of Hell
8. Japan Cakes
9. Bloodstreets
10. Killer
11. Drum Solo
12. Racing With The Devil (On A Spanish Highway)
13. Johnny's Back
14. Maryanne
15. Dance Of Death
16. Guitar Solos
17. Thundersteel
18. Narita
19. Warrior
20. Smoke On The Water
21. Road Racin'


Product Details
Band Riot
Format CD+DVD
Year 2019
Packaging Type Jewel Case
Number of Discs 1

Reviews (0)

Write a review


Video is not avaiable yet for this product.